HWY-052: 2 by The Gloaming (CD Version)



1. The Pilgrim's Song
2. Fáinleog (Wanderer)
3. The Hare
4. Oisin's Song
5. The Booley House
6. Repeal The Union
7. Casadh antSúgáin
8. The Rolling Wave
9. Cucanandy

10. Mrs Dwyer

11. Slán le Máighe
12. The Old Favorite



The Gloaming enhance traditional Irish music with the best sounds from contemporary classical, post-rock, jazz and experimental music. Irish fiddlers Martin Hayes and Caoimhin O Raghallaigh and sean-nos singer Iarla O Lionaird are joined by two Americans -- New York pianist Thomas Bartlett (aka Doveman), and Chicago-born guitarist Dennis Cahill. 

The band's self-titled debut fused & transformed tradition, defining a kind of "Irish classical music" that did not previously exist. It was widely acclaimed as one of the finest recordings of 2014, making year-end best lists from NPR Music, the Irish Times, the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards and winning the Meteor Choice Music Prize (the Mercury Prize of Ireland).

Their touring calendar has been equally impressive, including notable nights at the White Light Festival at New York's Lincoln Center, a rare UCLA/USC co-presentation at Los Angeles' Bovard Auditorium and concerts with major presenters in Chicago, Minneapolis, Seattle, Michigan, et al. Internationally they performed at the Ceiliuradh at London's Royal Albert Hall (a celebration of the Irish president's first-ever state visit to Britian); at Australia's Sydney Opera House; in Mexico City's Teatro de la Ciuda; and headlined WOMAD festival dates in New Zealand, Australia and the United Kingdom.

Their second album explores new harmonic voices, new moods and styles and songs, while delivering the uniquely visionary music that only a "supergroup" of master musicians can. More emotionally direct than the debut, Martin Hayes has proclaimed: "The album has more feeling than the first -- a simple joyfulness, euphoria and innocence."

    Related products