HWY-008: Cherry Tree by The National (vinyl LP)


The 12" vinyl version of The National’s third recording has arrived. This is the second time this record has ever been available on vinyl. (The first was a very limited edition 10" licensed to Shake It Records in the band's hometown Cincinnati, OH.) The jacket is on lovely uncoated paper stock.

This edition is on black-vinyl. It also includes a digital download card for an MP3 version of the release.

For an extra $3 to $5 we're offering "bundles" that include posters printed at the time of the release of The National's first two albums. "I 'Tear' TN" is approx 11" x 17" delivered folded. "Crow" is approx 16" x 23" delivered folded. These posters are old warehouse which will not be reprinted.

Check out a song from the album here:

1. Wasp Nest
2. All the Wine
3. All Dolled-Up in Straps
4. Cherry Tree
5. About Today
6. Murder Me Rachael (Live)
7. Reasonable Man (I Don’t Mind)


The National's sophomore album, Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers (2003), found the band emerging onto a larger stage. Uncut called it "a genuine treasure" and named it an album of the year; it was hailed by Rolling Stone and the indie media; and Magnet, La Liberation (Paris), and the Chicago Tribune were only a few of the publications to tap it for their year-end lists.

In France, the band had become such a sensation that renowned DJ Bernard Lenoir invited them to perform on his Black Sessions -- following US buzz bands like The Rapture and Interpol. A track from that session, "Murder Me Rachel" occupies the warm-blooded heart of Cherry Tree, a 7-song collection that delves the depths and brought their tension-wire rock to new heights. Clocking in at just under thirty minutes Cherry Tree was an EP, a mini-LP, or a bridge to the future. It features five new songs and two bonus tracks, including one of those aforementioned live performance from France inter radio and a trans-oceanic duet between the National's singer Matt Berninger and Clogs' Padma Newsome.


Related products