HWY-001: s/t by The National (vinyl LP & poster bundle)


The vinyl version of The National’s first full-length record has arrived! There were previous pressings previously on colored vinyl & with limited edition posters and stuff. They sold out very quickly. That was cool, but we want everyone to have a chance to get this thing on vinyl.

So this version is not a limited edition. It is on black vinyl. But the jacket is still on lovely uncoated paper stock, and it includes a digital download card for an MP3 version of the release.

For an extra $3 we're offering a "bundle" that includes a poster printed at the time of the release of The National's CD debut. The poster is an old warehouse find. Dimensions approx 16" x 23" delivered folded.

If instant gratification is more up your alley, you can hear a track from the album right here:

 Or watch a video here:


1. Beautiful Head
2. Cold Girl Fever
3. The Perfect Song
4. American Mary
5. Son
6. Pay For Me
7. Bitters & Absolut
8. John’s Star
9. Watching You Well
10. Theory of the Crows
11. 29 Years
12. Anna Freud


The National are five displaced Ohioans living in New York—two sets of brothers and one dear friend. They play smart, naked, and bracing rock music that has kept the press singing praises for almost a decade. Of the eponymous record, No Depression said, “The National has created nearly a dozen picture-perfect Americana bar-soaked gems with its debut album.” Creative Loafing described it as a “merciless hybrid of plaintive American folk with the mordant gallows humor of Nick Cave and Jarvis Cocker.” “Full of simple songs that convey complex emotions,” wrote Billboard, “this dazzling debut should be the portent of good things to come.”

Related products